Here’s a real Feng Shui cure for the Money Bags chain-letter.

Money bags, money bags, money bags…What’s this all about? There’s an email chain letter floating around that says “This month has 5 Fridays, 5 Saturdays and 5 Sundays. This happens once every 823 years. This is called money bags. So, send this to your friends and money will arrive within 4 days…based on Chinese Feng Shui.” And many of my clients have been asking me about this.

This is not Feng Shui. The ancient Feng Shui masters never used chain letters to bring luck.
This month having five Fridays, five Saturdays and five Sundays occurs much more often than every 823 years. It happened in 2005, 1994, 1988, 1983…and it will happen again in 2016, 2022. I’m sure I can find a lot more dates if anyone is interested.

But there is an opportunity for you to make money here!

In Feng Shui there is a Money Bag. You can see one carried by the Happiness Buddha (one of the depictions of Buddha). It’s a sack he carries over his shoulder. And he goes around handing out gifts to the good people all over the world.

You don’t have to be superstitious to be a little unnerved by these emails. We have a difficult economy and no one wants to do anything that might interrupt the luck. But you don’t have to pass this email along and potentially annoy your friends. Instead create your own Money Bags.

Make your own Money Bags by taking nine coins (nine is a very lucky number in Feng Shui) and wrapping the coins in a piece of cloth (red would be luckiest and if you don’t have cloth you could use wrapping paper) and tying the cloth together with a piece of ribbon (red would be good but you could also use green or yellow). And place your Money Bags where you receive money in the house. So if you receive a paycheck then you would place your Money Bags in the Career Area (in your entryway by the front door). If you receive money through the internet then place your Money Bags by the computer. If you make most of your money by phone then place your Money Bags by the phone or phone charger. Or if you make most of your money through investments then place your Money Bags with your investments files.

While I think you can safely ignore these emails (and trust me, I have deleted plenty) it is also wise to sometimes use the available energy to your advantage. So make a few Money Bags and collect money for yourself.

Want to know more about your future in money and in love? Leave a comment to get more information.

About Donna Stellhorn

Author and entrepreneur Donna Stellhorn has successfully combined a variety of metaphysical tools and practical skills in the course of building her successful career. She is a dynamic speaker, a thoughtful and supportive personal coach, a practical business consultant, and a creative adviser with more than 20 years of experience. In addition to building three successful businesses of her own and logging more than 12,000 hours of consultations with clients so far, she lectures, teaches a variety of classes, offers apprenticeship programs, leads workshops, and continues to write on a variety of topics. She believes in encouraging others to achieve success in their careers and in their personal lives. Donna has written eight books. One of them, Feng Shui Form, is a collection of many of her best and most popular concepts to help her readers create a supportive and comfortable living and working environment. Her best-selling booklet of more than 10 years, Sage and Smudge: Clearing Your Personal Space shares the concept of how to cleanse and clear space, objects, or environments. Her first Feng Shui book was published in Europe in 1996, where she introduced the concepts of Form Feng Shui to thousands of eager readers. A welcome guest on radio shows across the country (and on the internet), Donna has been seen on NECN's New England Dream House, and was invited to speak at the prestigious Build Boston Architectural Conference three years in a row. Donna is a Red Ribbon Professional and the former Director of the International Feng Shui Guild's Boston Chapter. She is a board member of NCGR, ASA, and the Professional Astrologers' Group. When she takes a moment to relax, she enjoys her home in Laguna Niguel, California, spending time with her friends, her pets, and a good book on any subject. Donna is available for personal and business consultations with individuals living in any time zone. Appointments can be made to meet in person, via phone, or Skype.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Here’s a real Feng Shui cure for the Money Bags chain-letter.

  1. cc says:

    Hey! I just received my “Money Bag chain letter” today! I’m gonna forward your blog back to them as a response. Thanks for the FSF (Feng Shui Facts)! –The Computer Cat

  2. Djuna Wojton says:

    This is great news. I can’t wait to try it.

  3. Sierra Dawn says:

    Thank you for debunking this one! It’s popped up on Facebook yet again. I posted it to my wall, along with a link to your site … so you may get a few extra hits today. And I think I’ll take your advice!

  4. Client says:

    Wow, I just got the foresaid e-mail!!

  5. Will Barrows says:

    Yours is the best response I found to this chain letter. I get quite annoyed at the implication that I will be cursed if I don’t forward the email on.

  6. Heidi says:

    Your blog came up in my google search when I decided to check out what feng shui even had to do with a calendar – I’m guilty of passing on the chain letter but more so with the intent to share the cool calendar. Thank you for pointing out that this “phenomenon” happens much more often and WILL happen again in our lifetime. I’m about to send this blog to the same people I sent the chain to! <3 Heidi

  7. Carene says:

    Thanks, very informativie and good advise.

  8. Alana says:

    I got two of the above chain email this morning. I am going to pass along your post on FaceBook.

  9. Johny says:

    Thanks for the info .. i receive this message in my phone .. haha .. :D

  10. great post, I really enjoy reading it!

  11. Erika says:

    I got a fwd on my phone about the “chinese feng shui” and i wanted to see if it was true, haah.. thanks for the facts! :), I wanna try the moneybag things!!

  12. Just got a “money bag” chain letter on my facebook. Wish people would research things before passing them on. I am going to share this with the posting person.

  13. Thank you SO much. I *hatehatehate* chain letters but can’t help feel somewhat burdened by “what if” – this saved me from posting to my Facebook wall and annoying others… although the cynic in me mocks myself for even considering it. We all know those ancient Chinese were all about the chain letters, right? :P

  14. Theresa says:

    I just got that email and did my research… I found your blog and sent it to them as FYI’s.

  15. Diane Carree says:

    I feel like I have to commend you for stating the truth for folks who choose to look things up first before posting. If I tell you that I was one click from posting before I decided to check on Chinese Feng Shui money bags. Now listen to this, I just got the info to re post from the National Examiner newspaper. There is a famous psychic healer that I really like named Tony Leggett he printed this for everyone to tell everybody. So I wrote it on my FB page and was just about to post it when I googled and got you. Now here’s the thing, this July 2012 doesn’t even have 5 of each of the 3 days, it has only 5 Sundays. I once respected Tony and now am leery because he didn’t check his own sources. An email to him is going out next. Thank you very much for your much needed information, for this has now taught me to check everything first…xxx

  16. james says:

    Um, I believe one fights fire with water.

  17. Jude says:

    Hi there. I just got an email and it was same old thing; but for December 2012- 5 Sundays, 5 Saturdays and 5 Monday’s. I have had such an horrendous past 2 years I really couldn’t really do with another and was very tempted to forward on even though I have never passed on any chain mail before. Chain mail is a real pain in the ….. But like me I think people are at times are really struggling, and willing to take a chance, so as not to bring bad luck or miss fortune upon ones self. Thank you for your very informative information, I honestly appreciate your time and effort for providing this info to those that are desperate to seek fact from fiction.
    Blessings to you, and all. Jude x

  18. Thank you! Actually just posted this article to Facebook and Twitter. These started again for December 2012! LOL

  19. Vickie says:

    I’m gonna try both the nine coins and the chain letter been expecting maybe its the right time, wish me luck I don’t have much more to lose.

  20. fengshuiform says:

    Thank you Diana, I appreciate you spreading the word.

  21. fengshuiform says:

    Hi Patricia, thank you so much for the information. Donna

Leave a Reply

